I Said Yes

A couple Sundays ago our daughters asked if they could please make dinner for us. Normally, I would say “no” because I wouldn’t think of the joy it would bring them and the whole family. No, normally I would selfishly think of the messes and extra work it would create for me. I wouldn’t think of the learning opportunity, I wouldn’t think of how my “no” would be killing their interest in domestic things like cooking for your family. I would think of how much more efficiently I could get dinner out, I would think of how I would have to answer endless questions and explain very basic things. Normally, it wouldn’t cross my mind that the Lord was giving me a chance to act out Titus 2 in my own home, it wouldn’t cross my mind that always saying no is indeed neglecting my responsibilities as a mother of daughters.

Thankfully, the Lord is rich in mercy and had very recently brought to my attention my sinfulness of saying no constantly. So, on that evening a couple of Sundays ago I said, “Yes. We would love for you to make us dinner.” And I cannot believe how much of a blessing it was to our family. The girls worked cheerfully together to put a beautiful dinner on the table for us. They were so excited and honored to be serving us. I found so much joy in answering their questions and cheering them along. I was so touched by their hard work that I didn’t even mind the two hours spent in the kitchen cleaning up after dinner.

They made us a lovely dinner of hot dogs, mashed potatoes and a veggie tray. For dessert they served sugar cookies and strawberries. They drew up individual place-mats for each person and set the table beautifully.

It was a wonderful evening for the whole family — a true blessing from the Lord.

In Christ,

3 thoughts on “I Said Yes

Leave a Reply

