Pinterest Experiments

I, like many others, have embraced all the wonderful-ness that is Pinterest. It’s a sea of online crafts, recipes, pithy quotes, encouraging sayings, and more … all in one easy accessible place! There’s been quite a few things I have tried/created since I signed up for Pinterest. Today I wanted to review two of the DIY projects I have tried.

1. Do-It-Yourself Laundry Detergent

I used the recipe in the link above to make my own laundry detergent (except I didn’t add in the Oxi-clean). The blogger at the above link provides great instructions and the whole process is super easy. Not only is making your own laundry detergent easy, it is SOOO cheap!

So, the question everyone asks: “Yes, it’s cheap and easy but does it work?” Answer: You bet! It works so well too! I have been using my home-made detergent for a month or so now and it gets out clothes cleaner than any store bought detergent has (and I’ve tried just about all brands). Just as a warning, if you use this don’t be alarmed when there’s no suds in your water, that’s just the way this stuff works. No bubbles but wonderfully clean clothes! 🙂

Conclusion: This recipe is definitely a keeper. I don’t foresee us buying laundry detergent again (unless it is free with a coupon, of course! 😉 )

2. Do-It-Yourself Shout

I used the recipe at the above link to make my own Shout. Having children pretty much makes some type of stain-remover a necessity in life. Not too long ago I conducted an experiment in my laundry room to determine which stain-removers actually worked. Shout was the clear winner, hands down. So, when I saw a recipe to make my own Shout I was intrigued and knew I had to try it.    Unfortunately, my results were not great.

The issue with my Shout concoction was that it would not spray out of the bottle. The sprayer kept getting clogged up (even after vigorous shaking between each spray). I’m not sure if I did something wrong, but I did follow the recipe correctly as far as I am aware. Even with the sprayer not working I did try this stain remover on a few stains. It did take some stains out pretty good but it did not perform at the level the real-deal does.

Conclusion: I ended up at Target buying more Shout.

As I try more ideas gleaned from Pinterest I will try to review them too 🙂

In Christ,

6 thoughts on “Pinterest Experiments

  1. A woman from our church gave me that awesome laundry detergent recipe. As a matter of fact, she said that if you rub a bit of it onto tough stains, before the wash, that it works as great as Shout. Just a thought?

    • I have heard that too. I don’t like rubbing stuff because I can never get the soap taste off my fingers and everything I eat somehow ends up tasting like laundry soap.Thanks for the thought though! 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear the home-made shout recipe wasn’t a winner. I think it’s cool that you did an experiment to see which stain remover does the best job, though – I never thought of doing a “side-by-side.” Nice to know 🙂

    • Sorry….I know it looks like my name is sweatershaver, but its really me, Stormy – LOL. I played with a blog a long time ago and used a “dummy” name. I guess I should change that and start using it 🙂

  3. I also love the laundry detergent recipe and will not be buying store bought anymore! My next goal is to try the homemade body wash….laundry soap, dishwasher soap and body wash are the items we spend a LOT of money on with 5 kids! Thanks for sharing – I look forward to your next review!

Leave a Reply

