A Prayer From Titus

“Remind them to be subject to rulers and authorities, to obey, to be ready for every good work, to speak evil of no one, to be peaceable, gentle, showing all humility to all men. For we ourselves were also once foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving various lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful and hating one another. But when the kindness and the love of God our Savior toward man appeared, not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Savior, that having been justified by His grace we should become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.”
-Titus 3:1-7

Lord God,

Without your merciful intervention I would be lost, loving my ways and hating yours. I would have no hope in life or death if it weren’t for your mercy. Let me never forget I am what I am, I am heaven-bound not because of me, not because of my goodness, not because of my intelligence, not because of my obedience. No, I am what I am because of Christ. I am heaven-bound because of His goodness, because of His intelligence, because of His obedience. It is only by grace that I have received your Spirit, and only by your Spirit have my eyes been opened. Only by your Spirit has your wisdom been shared with me. Your gracious mercy has awakened me and given me new life. It is only because of Your plan, Christ’s obedience, and the Spirit’s awakening that I am what I am.

Because of this, let me not esteem myself higher than others. Let me not be quick to forget from that which I came … that which I once was … that which I still battle. Constantly remind me, as they are I once was. As they are I still would be without you, O Lord! As I remember my standing, my true self in contrast to my new self help me to show kindness and mercy to all. Holy Spirit, enable me to have a gentle Spirit and a kind word. Help me to be prepared for all good works that present themselves to me, not just the ones inside the church walls. Allow me to serve not only your church, but serve your universe. Above all, let me, where ever you take me, to be ready to share how You saved me. Help me to be ready to give of myself at all times … mimicking the life of Your Son, Jesus Christ the best I can.

I know all of these things are possible because of Christ Jesus and the Holy Spirit you have given me.

Amen.

One thought on “A Prayer From Titus

  1. This is exactly why I strive to be carefully graceful about how I think/speak of others; I once was like them (or worse, much worse). God granted me much patience and showered me with so much grace. May I learn to do the same… “mimicking the life of Your Son, Jesus Christ the best I can.”

    Great post, Holly!

Leave a Reply

