Memorize By Heart, Live By It: Titus verse 1


It is probably no surprise that I am behind on memorizing Titus with my sisters in Christ. I’m struggling quite a bit with the memorizing because the sentences go on for days. Last week I managed to memorize verse one, when we were supposed to memorize verses one through four! Yikes. I’m really impressed by those of you that can memorize so much in just one short week; I certainly wish I had that gift. Perhaps, one day I will. This is my first memory project so maybe that has something to do with it? Either way, I am not giving in! πŸ™‚ I may just be weeks behind the “assigned” completion date, but I really want to memorize this book.

To be honest, I am not overly familiar with the book of Titus, aside from the well known verses about older women teaching younger women Β and the elder qualifications. Upon reading it through though I am amazed at how much wonderful information and exhortation is packed into this tiny book. Even in the greeting we see wonderful truths on display:

“Paul, a bondservant of God and an apostle of Jesus Christ, according to the faith of God’s elect and the acknowledgment of the truth which accords with godliness,” vs 1.

Paul opens his letter by referring to himself as a bondservant of God. If you aren’t familiar with the term bondservant the Free Online Dictionary defines it as “a person obligated to service without wages” or, “a slave or serf.” So, basically, Paul is calling himself a slave of God. Wow! Does this not fly in the face of our modern day view of our relationship to God? Today, we consider ourselves princesses because we are daughters of the king. I see this phrase on Christian t-shirts, Bible covers, etc. I cannot help but wonder what the Apostles would think of our thoughts of being royalty. Yes, we are heirs with Christ but what was Christ? He was a lowly and humble servant … joyfully doing the will of the Father. That is what we have been bought for! We were purchased with the blood of Christ to joyfully serve the Father and glorify Him above all else.

In Christ,

9 thoughts on “Memorize By Heart, Live By It: Titus verse 1

  1. Hollie,
    I completely understand the struggle. Memorizing Scripture is very hard for me.

    I’ll pause for a cheer: “Go Hollie! Go Hollie!”

    What a wonderful goal you have in memorizing this book. May God bless your efforts, my friend, and may you always treasure His Word.

    Love you!

  2. I applaud you on this mission to memorize Titus! It takes a lot of discipline – which I know is a struggle. πŸ™‚

    Do you think the ‘daughter’s of the King’ phrase shouldn’t be used?

    • No, I don’t think it should because of what it implies. Jesus, who was/is the great King did not come as a King, in how we think of it, but as a lowly servant. He said He came not to be served bu be served. We are to follow His example.

  3. Dear Hollie,

    I LOVE THIS POST! I love it because of many reasons. One is that you are determined to memorize it even if it takes you more time than the scheduled (especially since baby Dermer is on its way) πŸ™‚

    And I love it because you are pointing to a great truth. That we are servants, and not “princesses” is such an important thing to understand! It really bothers me when I hear all that “we are princesses” talk. It is so far from the Truth! Living as a servant is not something we would choose, right? And yet it is what we now love the most…His grace is irresistible indeed!

    Love you, my friend!

    • Becky,

      Thank you for your thoughts too! You are right, being servants would not be our first choice or any choice we would ever make! But who would turn down a chance at being a Princess or part of a royal family? Thank God, He has mercy on us and changes our hearts. What a wonderful God we serve.

      Love & hugs to you too!

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Hollie! Keep crying out to Him for grace to help you as you store His Word in your heart and He will continue to faithfully meet you! πŸ™‚ There’s definitely no pressure to memorize any part of God’s Word according to any specific timeline…consistency and perseverance are so much more important! Keep up the good work!! So glad you could join us! πŸ™‚

    Warmly,
    Elizabeth

    • Elizabeth,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such kind and encouraging words πŸ™‚ Yes, I will continue to pray and plead with God to help me as I go about this memory challenge. Our God is faithful!

  5. Great post Hollie. I have found that writing the passage out each morning and night has been very helpful with memorisation.
    The phrase “Daughters of the King” makes me cringe too. We are to count the cost and take up our cross, not put on our tiara and call ourselves a princess!

Leave a Reply

