2012

It’s that time of year when we start to think about the upcoming year. My husband and I met and talked about our goals and hopes for 2012. It was an awesome time together 🙂 We have decided to name or give 2012 a theme. That name/theme is: discipline and growth. We want to become more disciplined in our walk with the Lord and as parents to our children (our children have been victim of many fizzled out plans and new ideas in the last six months), We pray that our entire family will grow closer to God and one another. And of course, our family will literally continue to grow in this upcoming year as we will meet our child currently hanging out in my womb 🙂

Another thing we decided is that we would each (Josh and myself) read on spiritual book a month. We think this goal is realistic and low enough that we have a chance of meeting it! 😉 So, without furhter ado this is my book list for 2012:

January – Prayers of An Excellent Wife by Andrew Case

February- The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer

March- Bringing The Gospel Home: Witnessing To Your Family Members, Close Friends and Others You Know Well by Randy Newman

April- Loving The Church by John Crotts

May- Polishing God’s Monuments: Pillars of Hope For Punishing Times by Jim Andrews

June- God’s Canon by Steve Hays

July- Heaven on Earth by Thomas Brooks

August- Defending The Faith by Cornelius Van Til

September- Alive or Dead by JC Ryle

October- CONSIDER JESUS: Thoughts for Daily Duty, Service, and Suffering by Octavius Winslow

November- Red Like Blood by Joe Coffey + Bob Bevington

December- Broken Down House by Paul David Tripp

I already own all these books on my Kindle, so yay for not spending money! Also, if I don’t finish every book no sweat … taking care of my husband, children and home comes before reading. I’m hoping with a little free time I’ll be able to finish a good bit of them … that will probably change when the baby comes, who knows. Either way, we’re good! 🙂

13 thoughts on “2012

  1. We do a “family focus” each year, too, Hollie. Wonderful! And thank you for sharing your book list. I’m currently reading Loving the Church on my Kindle. Much food for thought.

  2. Thanks for sharing your book list! I’m going to check out some of the titles you listed! May God grant you and Josh a singular mind and spirit as you go forth in raising your family together!

  3. Great list, my friend!
    I actually have planned that after the Praying Through the Valley of Vision “challenge” ends, I will invite you all to join me in praying through Andrew Case’s book, Prayers for the Excellent Wife, and that would be around mid-January –

    Heaven on Earth by Thomas Brooks, sound wonderful. I will have to check it out.

    Love you!

    • Becky,

      The Valley of Vision “challenge” has been so wonderful. Admittedly, I haven’t read every single day because some days I forgot. But it has been so nice to read them regularly. Really has helped my prayer life. I’m so glad you shared the ‘challenge.’

      Heaven on Earth by Thomas Brooks is a free eBook available from Monergism! Here’s the link: http://www.monergism.com/thethreshold/articles/onsite

      Looking forward to joining you all for reading the Andrew Case book. 🙂

      Merry Christmas to you and your family, Becky! Love you sister!!

  4. Pingback: 2012 Book List | Reformed Virginian

  5. You might have more time to read with your baby! My Riley NEVER slept, he just stayed up screaming all night the first 3 months, so I walked our apartment bouncing him and read him political theory, philosophy, French, whatever I needed to be doing for my classes at the time.

    (I do not, however, wish you this type of reading time…just saying it can work to your advantage to have a colicky baby…especially when you’re 8 years from infancy and can look back and laugh about it!)

  6. happy new year dear friend! wishing you and josh and the entire dermer clan a very blessed new year. so thankful to know you and have you as my friend and sister! much love!

  7. Pingback: A Prayer For My Husband |

Leave a Reply

