Checking In

It’s been a little quiet around these parts. We have been busy preparing for Advent,  enjoying the season and normal day to day activities . We are celebrating with an Advent wreath, a family devotional each day (We are using this devotional as a family), and a box full of envelopes that has a simple activity planned for each day of Advent.

On the 2nd,  our sweet Rylee turned five! It still feels kind of surreal, both of our daughters are now kids not babies. For her birthday we gave her the choice of eating at a restaurant of her choice or having a meal and desert of her choice fixed at home. She hose to eat at a buffet so that’s what we did. I’m sure the food was horrible for us, but it was yummy!My in-laws joined us and it was a nice time of fellowship. Of course, while we were in Ohio over Thanksgiving she also had a birthday party up there with our friends and family.

Next, my beloved’s birthday is coming up. Tomorrow actually! We choose to have the time eating out as a dual celebration for both birthdays, but I’m sure we’ll still do a little something special here tomorrow.

School is going well. We took a little break because we were swapping rooms around but we are back in full swing now. I’ve also started thinking about next year … what will we change, what will stay the same? Pricing out our books so I know how much to start putting back in savings.  Next year will be interesting (and I suspect quite challenging) homeschooling two children with a brand new baby to boot.

Speaking of the baby, things are going pretty well. Bouts of nausea and sickness as well as fatigue are my most notable symptoms. I am anxious to have an ultrasound. My first real appointment is the 16th. The girls are anxious for my belly to start growing. Soon enough, I’m sure!

Currently, I’m reading When Sinners Say I Do and finishing up The Pilgrim’s Progress. Both are excellent books and I would highly recommend them to anyone!

A couple articles worth your reading time:

  • Over at my friend Becky’s blog she is hosting a series on the Excellencies of His Name. What a wonderful time to learn more about Christ, whose birth we celebrate this time of year especially.
  • And, over at my friend Jessalyn’s blog she penned an excellent series titled Why Not Santa Claus? She does a great job of writing about the conflicts that Christian parents will inevitably run into when they attempt to celebrate both Christ and Santa. If nothing else, she will leave you with something to think about!

I hope you all have a week full of Christ!

 

6 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. I am so happy all is going well. This week is also my husband’s b’day (next Friday!), so we will also do something special 🙂

    Isabel and I are reading The Tinker’s Daughter, a story based on Mary Bunyan, (Mr. Bunyan’s blind daughter). I absolutely recommend it as a read aloud with your girls. I always cry when I read it…

    Love you!

    P.S. Thanks for spreading the word about our Advent series. ❤

  2. Hollie,

    Sounds like things are well. It sounds like Rylee had a wonderful birthday. I cannot believe she is five all ready. Has she hit any major milestones? I think it would be awesome to post some of the milestones of your girls! I’d love to read them!

    School also sounds like it’s going well. I’m glad the girls are enjoying homeschooling. I’ve thought about that now that we have the money (eventually) coming in and I stay at home but the more prayer I put into it the more I know it’s not for me or Kaidance right now. Who knows about future children!

    Have you lost/gained any weight? Your family pictures you looked amazing! Do you and Joshua plan to find out the sex of your baby? Looking forward to updates about baby Dermer! 🙂

    • Hi Megan! Rylee hasn’t had any major milestones that I can think of. She did learn to read a couple months ago so that was a big one! She’s finally learning to wear clothes that match! lol.

      I do love homeschooling. Having my kids home with me is amazing. But, I wanted it for so long. When I was a single mom I hated being away from them 6-8 hours a day. I know home-schooling isn’t for every family though!

      My weight has remained about the same. I think it’s because of all the nausea and vomiting I had for a while. Thank God that stage seems to have passed! I am trying to exercise regularly but it hasn’t been happening. I bought some Reebok Easy Tones to wear around the house and it really works your legs!

      Yes, we do plan to find out the sex. My first ‘real’ appointment is on the 16th. I’ll be around 12 weeks then 🙂

      • I remember her learning to read! She is such a big girl. Learning to match when dressing is SO important. Seriously. I wish someone would have taught me that. I have such a problem with it now…dressing nicely. :/

        I can understand that. I think my upbringing (i was homeschooled all my life but three years) and the horrible experience I had with homeschooling just made it hard for me to have that desire. You are an amazing teacher, I wish we lived closer so you could teach mine!

        Ugh I remember those weeks. I thought with Sophia that it would NEVER end. I was sick from day one until 20 weeks and then again at 35 weeks! UGH! My midwife said that it does not go away with each child but is about the same. LOL. Way to give us hope…

        Hope you guys have a great weekend!

  3. Hi Hollie,
    We’re celebrating Advent this year doing Jesse Tree devotionals. Sweet times pondering the coming of our Lord. And oh, preparing for next year homeschooling! Want any more catalogs?? (ha!)

Leave a Reply

