Wednesday’s WOW: Envelopes

 Today I’m linking up with my good friend, Petra, at This Good Steward for Wednesday’s World Of Work! Make sure to stop by her site to be inspired and see other fun projects 🙂 

My husband and I recently started the popular Dave Ramsey Total Money Makeover plan to get out of debt. This month was our first month on a written budget and so far it’s going pretty good. We were already using parts and pieces of this plan so it wasn’t a huge adjustment for us to make. One of my favorite thing about the Dave Ramsey plan is the envelope system. For those unfamiliar with this concept, you basically have different monthly budget amounts for different categories (eg. groceries, fun money, gas, gifts, etc). I love this and up until last week had been using plain-jane white envelopes for each category. Well, my friend Nicole shared a link on Facebook for a tutorial to make pretty and fun envelopes. And it was free! Count me in! To make it even better I already had everything I needed at home. For this project I used scrapbook paper, glue, my printer, and scissors
.

I also made envelopes for our daughters. We are trying to teach them how to rightly handle money while they are young.

You too can make your own envelopes here 🙂

Photobucket

9 thoughts on “Wednesday’s WOW: Envelopes

  1. Thank you for linking up, Hollie! You've just inspired me to revamp our budget with cute envelopes! We haven't done the program but have read the Total Money Makeover and have come a long way since. You're a very crafty lady! Keep up the wonderful work of your hands and heart! Blessings!

  2. I'm kicking myself for not telling you about that website a few weeks ago when you first mentioned that you were using the envelope system. It's a great site. I like the ones she sells too.

Leave a Reply

