How Quickly We Forget

Shortly after the release of the Anthony trial verdict my Facebook feed filled up with outraged status updates. I think in a matter of thirty minutes I saw Casey Anthony being called every vile thing under the sun. Most of what I read, I cannot (nor do I desire to) repeat here. It’s safe to say people think this woman is a monster deserving of death and hell.
I read updates from many Christians that were mean-spirited and self righteous at best. How quickly we forget our hearts, our inheritance from Adam. Are we truly so much better than this woman? Our Lord Jesus said that to hate someone was to murder them in your heart – and that the real issue with us fallen humans was not our outward actions but our hearts. 
β€œYou have heard that it was said to those of old, β€˜You shall not murder; and whoever murders will be liable to judgment.’ 22 But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment.” Matthew 5:21-22

Let us remember, today and always, it is only by God’s Grace that we aren’t doing such grievous acts as murdering our own children. It’s not because we are “good” people. The Earth has only known one truly good person – Jesus Christ.

“A very hell of corruption lies within the best saint; and if the grace of God did not
restrain it, he would soon be found among the chief of sinners. -Charles Spurgeon

If you are tempted to believe you could never do something so vile as what we’ve watched through out this trial, repent. If it makes you feel sick or uncomfortable to imagine someone like Casey Anthony in heaven with you someday … please revisit the Gospels. Heaven will be full of redeemed-sinners. Ms. Anthony could still be saved by Christ at some point. Lastly, take a moment to praise God in His infinite goodness from holding you, me, and so many others back from the vast amount of wickedness and evil we could indulge in each day.

“But by the grace of God I am what I am.” 1 Corinthians 15:10

7 thoughts on “How Quickly We Forget

  1. It's really hard not to have an emotional reaction to something like this. But this was a good post. And I think I needed to read that. Thanks for sharing HolliePS I'm "following" you now πŸ™‚

  2. You're right, Emily, it is SO hard not to have an emotional reaction to something like this … I think on some level we all do. I know I did. That's why it's important to keep our emotions in check with scripture. πŸ™‚ Thanks for following me! Lovin' your new blog look! πŸ™‚

  3. Amen Hollie!We all want to see justice done, but none of us can say we would NEVER do something like this…we.. don't know that. God will judge and I really do hope that Casey does come to know Jesus.

  4. A very important reminder, Hollie. I was asked about this yesterday and I just kept saying the same thing, "She is innocent until proven guilty and she was found not guilty. God will avenge if our courts failed. I just pray the way He avenges is through the saving work of Jesus Christ rather than an eternity in hell."

  5. I can leave a comment!! :DAs you requested, here is my take on the subject…I didn't really follow the case and it wasn't until yesterday that I even knew what it was all about. I had no opinion one way or another. And regardless of if I did or not, we are not to judge – even though it is in our human tendancies that we do. I'm not sure I agree with you though on the "Let us remember, today and always, it is only by God's Grace that we aren't doing such grievous acts as murdering our own children. It's not because we are "good" people. The Earth has only known one truly good person – Jesus Christ." comment. I do agree that Jesus was the only perfect person to ever, and who will ever, be of this world. I don't know however, if we were all destined to be murderers and such. The way it's worded is that we are all destined to be – essentially – devils here on earth. Granted, we were all born as sinners and without God we are all capable of doing such monsterous deeds. I will agree with you on that. I just don't think that God creates "evil" people daily – in hopes that maybe they will follow Him.

  6. I am thankful to live in a country where we are innocent until proven guilty, and where that proof takes hard work. Yes, guilty people will slip through the system. But does anybody really "get away" with anything? After all, we'll all have to face God with all that we've done in this life someday.

Leave a Reply

