Lists of gratitude 4/4/11


 Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving. Colossians 4:2

Each Monday, I share here a growing list of thankfulness. I do this, not because it makes me better, or holy, or pure — only the Gospel of Jesus Christ has the power to do that. I give thanks to keep myself humble. I give thanks because my Master has told me to do so; not, because it’s the hip, trendy thing to do right now. I know having a “gratitude list” over a million numbers long will not increase my chances of entering glory. It plays, no part in my salvation. 

Please, sweet reader, never be fooled into believing you can work, write, or number your way to heaven. Jesus Christ, the Lord, is the only way. Nothing you do will ever be good enough before God because you were born a child of wrath. We all were. No one ever has or ever will live a sinless life – aside from Christ. Look to Jesus, and him alone, for your redemption and salvation — you are deceived if you think it lies within yourself.



 Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

132. Jesus once for all sacrifice on the Cross. 

133. The  beautiful, inspiring picture of a sinful human being obedient to God we find in Mary, the mother of Christ. What encouragement we can find in her.  

134. Watching my daughter be inspired and encouraged as we read about saints and martyrs gone before us. Saturday night we finished up Gladys Alyward.  

135. Providence. I will forever be in awe of seeing the hand of God in my life and in the world.

136. My Lord being my comfort, my shield, and the one that sustains me always. 

137. A sermon last night about the Holiness of God – one of the most captivating doctrines I have ever known. 

138. A chance to celebrate life in the womb with friends yesterday. 

139. The common grace of beautiful music. God is so gracious to His creation. 

140.  The sound of rain as I drift off to sleep.

Daisypath Wedding tickers

7 thoughts on “Lists of gratitude 4/4/11

  1. Dear Hollie,This is so true! Giving thanks is the natural response for Christians towards a great Lord which gives us from His hand all that we have. His mercies are new every morning indeed!And I do too love when I have the chance to fall asleep listening to the sound of rain!

  2. Hollie,What an awe-inspiring list, and I can't believe your wedding is only a bit over 2 months away. You must be counting the minutes. 🙂 Love and hugs!

  3. Your thoughts on gratitude in your introduction are so spot on! And you have such a wonderful and down to earth way of communicating deep truths! Well said, sister, well said! And, your list is also very humbling! Thank you for sharing your godly thoughts! You are precious to me!

  4. Hi! I stopped by because you're on the A-Z blogging challenge list. I put you on my following list. I'm a pastor's wife. We're Reformed Southern Baptists which means we're in a minority among others in our denomination. I therefore collect Reformed websites like rare stamps. Nice to meet you! Oh! I'm a writer too, scifi/fantasy which you might find strange. I know some Christians do. I have two blogs: http://sherrilackey.blogspot.com and http://jotslunaradventure.com which ironically is about the real me instead of the sherrilackey site being about the real me.

  5. Thanks for stopping by Sherri! Unforunately, I'm not going to be able to do the A-Z thing as I am moving this month, and I have no idea how to remove my link from that list now. But, I'm glad you found me! It's always wonderful to meet another member of my adopted family. Reformed blogs are like rare stamps! That's a great analogy. I've never heard the tern Reformed Southern Baptist. I've heard Reformed Baptist and Southern Baptist though. Do you all endorse the 1689 London Baptist Confession? I'm looking forward to checking out your sites! God bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

