Sunday Hymn: There Is A Fountain by William Cowper

There is a fountain filled with blood
drawn from Immanuel’s veins
And sinners plunged beneath that flood
Lose all their guilty stains

The dying thief rejoiced to see
That fountain in his day;
And there may I, though vile as he
Wash all my sins away

Dear dying Lamb, thy precious blood
Shall never lose its power
Till all the ransomed church of God
Are saved, to sin no more

For since by faith I saw the stream
Thy flowing wounds supply
Redeeming love has been my theme
and shall be till I die

When this poor lisping,
stammering tongue
Lies silent in the grave
Then in a nobler, sweeter song
I’ll sing thy power to save

Be Blessed,

6 thoughts on “Sunday Hymn: There Is A Fountain by William Cowper

  1. Beautiful, Hollie! This is one of my favorite hymns. It reminds me of my grandma — she loved to sing about the cross! Blessing God, with you, this Lord's Day, for that precious blood that washes all our sins away! Love you!

  2. RYC – There is an opera made of it, and a musical, and a play. Also, you find the character Don Quixote popping up in movies and books here and there. It's kind of fun to finally find out what the big deal is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

