Lists of gratitude 2/28/11 and other stuff

I have so much to be thankful for! I just want to shout it from the roof tops. Sometimes I just feel so full of joy and thankfulness I think I might burst open. Why, oh why, oh why me?! Such a wretched girl deserves none of the happiness and favor I’ve been shown.

 Today it has been gloomy, rainy and cold but I can’t help but grin. Last night, as the storm raged on outside my window, I felt overwhelmed with how lucky I was to have a roof and walls … and insulation, covers, a pillow, a furnace. Today, as I walked to my car, shivering in the cold I thought about how amazing it is that I can feel the coldness. I can feel the wind on my face, the rain on my head … how blessed am I?

Yesterday, as I balanced my very tiny bank account and noted my much smaller paycheck I was thankful to have a job. I was thankful to have the knowledge and access to coupons and blogs to show me how to use them in the maximum way.

My life is so very good. The best part? The trump card? I am on my way to heaven. I will spend eternity with the creator of everything.  So, if I lose my job, my house falls in and I lose the ability to feel anything it won’t change how blessed I am. I’ve been spared hell! Not because I am wonderful, oh I am so not wonderful. I am short-tempered, ill-mannered, a liar, a murderer at heart. I did nothing to earn my pass. Jesus paid it all! Praise God, bless God! I have been spared hell because of the finished work of Christ on the cross and because God so lovingly pulled the scales from my eyes and showed me who I really was. My Lord, drew me near, lead me to repentance and saved my very life out of His ever kind love and mercy.

Today’s list:
80. Providence. And seeing it play out so flawlessly!

81. The prayers of friends.

82. Dish soap with lotion in it. It’s such a luxury to me!

83. Coupons. Especially now.

84. Sunshine.

85. Porch swings.

86. William Farel. What a fiery man of God. So, thankful for his work during the Reformation.

87. That I have the chance to care for my girls, especially when they are sick.

88. Music. Especially cello pieces lately. So pretty!

89. Books from a friend.

90. Technology.

———-
This is the stuff part of my title. πŸ˜‰ Some of you may know, others may not, that I deactivated my Facebook recently. I’m taking a break while I plan for my upcoming wedding and move. So, I won’t be on Facebook until after June … if I decide to come back to it.

As such, I may be including a bit more personal things in this blog (not too much don’t worry!). Some people have asked me to since they plan to “keep up with me” via this blog. So, quickly on me: I will be married in about three months! I am thrilled. We have finalized a guest list, and ordered save the dates, and invitations. Very exciting. Josh has everything he needs for his tux. And I have my dress as well. (You can see it here. Mr. Dermer don’t click that link! πŸ˜‰ ) It’s so much fun planning a wedding, even with a tiny budget! πŸ™‚

We are still house hunting. So, keep us in your prayers in regards to that. Everything is good with the kiddos. And I think that’s about all …

Be Blessed,

6 thoughts on “Lists of gratitude 2/28/11 and other stuff

  1. Hollie, the dress is gorgeous! Where do people get that idea one needs to be immodest?Amen to your post. When we consider what Christ has done for us it puts everything into perspective.

  2. Beautiful post, Hollie, just bursting with gratitude to the One who gives us all good things! Yes, why me?Your dress is stunning! Wonderful choice. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

