Puritan Prayers: Sincerity

Elector of Saints,
Blessed is the man whom thou choosest
    and callest to thyself.
With thee is mercy, redemption, assurance, forgiveness;
Thou hast lifted me, a prisoner, out of
       the pit of sin
    and pronounced my discharge,
       not only in the courts of heaven,
       but in the dock of conscience;
    hast justified me by faith,
       given me peace with thee,
    made me to enjoy glorious liberty as thy child.

Save me from the false hope of the hypocrite:
May I never suppose I am in Christ unless I am a new creature,
    never think I am born of the Spirit,
       unless I mind the things of the Spirit,
    never rest satisfied with professions of belief
       and outward forms and services,
         while my heart is not right with thee.


May I judge my sincerity in religion
    by my fear to offend thee,
    my concern to know thy will,
    my willingness to deny myself.

May nothing render me forgetful of thy Glory,
    or turn me aside from thy commands,
    or shake my confidence in thy promises,
    or offend thy children.
Let not my temporal occupations injure my spiritual concerns,
    or the cares of life make me neglect the one thing needful.

May I not be inattentive to the design or thy dealings with me,
    or insensible under thy rebukes,
    or immobile at thy calls.

May I learn the holy art of abiding in thee,
    of being in the world and not of it,
    of making everything not only consistent with
       but conducive to my religion.

Taken from The Valley Of Vision pg 316

Be Blessed,

This photo was taken by my dear sister, Becky. She points us to God’s glory through her lens. Be sure to check out her photo blog!
3 thoughts on “Puritan Prayers: Sincerity

  1. I love these two quotes:"Let not my temporal occupations injure my spiritual concerns,or the cares of life make me neglect the one thing needful."and"May I learn the holy art of abiding in thee,of being in the world and not of it,of making everything not only consistent withbut conducive to my religion."How I need that to live in the presence of a Holy God; to live in the Sacred!Much love, Sister.

Leave a Reply

