Weekend Links 2/4/2011

I’m still trying to get caught up with my blog reading. As such, I only have one link today.

There have been several different understandings of what Jesus meant by taking the bread and saying, “This is my body, which is given for you” (Luke 22:19) and by taking the cup and saying, “This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins” (Matt. 26:28). Was he saying that the cup and the bread were signs of his body and blood, or that they somehow were transformed into the very body and blood of Jesus?
  It was natural then, and it is natural today, to point to a representation of something and say that the representation is the thing. For example, I look at a photograph of our house and say, “This is our house.” It would not enter anyone’s mind to think I mean that the photograph was transformed into my house. If Jesus stooped down and drew a camel in the sand, He would say, “This is a camel.” The drawing doesn’t become a camel. It represents a camel.

 Please read the rest at The Thirsty Theologian.

I also wanted to share this little sentence of conviction I read last night:


“Meeting with God each day is a way of acknowledging that we are totally dependent on His grace.” – Feminine Appeal

So, what if I don’t have time each morning to meet with God? This means I am acknowledging I am more dependent on sleep, time online, reading things beside His words, etc. Plain and simple, it’s idolatry is it not?

And lastly, a fantastic video from Wretched

Have a great weekend! 

Be Blessed,

6 thoughts on “Weekend Links 2/4/2011

  1. the guy from Wretched makes me want to punch someone. It isn't because of theological differences; I just think he's a huge jerk. He always rubs me the wrong way. The guy from the "Catholic version" of Wretched (it's a program called "The Vortex" I think?) is the same way. They may be saying true things, but their delivery style annoys the heck out of me.

  2. Valerie- Yeah, Mr. Friel is one of those people you either love or hate it seems. Even lots of Evangelicals don't like him. I'm surprised you don't though (aside from theological differences) just because he's sarcastic and you seem to like that kind of thing usually. I've never heard of "The Vortex."Raina- Same here! I wish I could watch Wretched on TV. I've thought about joining "The Wretched Club" so I can watch the shows online. I think it's $5 a month.

Leave a Reply

