Goals for 2011

I am one of those people that welcomes in each New Year with open arms. A new year always feels like a clean slate to me, or a fresh start. So, each year I make goals for the following year … the ever popular New Years Resolutions. As such, this post will be about my goals for the coming 2011.

First, in 2011 I’d like to begin to mentally and emotionally prepare for upcoming changes in my life. I’ve included books on my 2011 reading list that deal with these changes. Soon enough, though the exact time has yet to be determined, I will go from single, working-mother to stay-at-home wife and mother. I want to really orient myself with what God says about wives and mothers. I hope to study specific areas of scripture pertaining to these areas in the first half of 2011. I am also reading up more on home-schooling as we will soon enough be in a position to do that in normative manner.

I also want to revisit what it is to be a mother. I feel like I’ve been playing mom and dad for so long that a lot of the core mothering traits have been lost. That’s really horrible for my children. So, I want to touch base with mothers in scripture, study their traits and work on my own mothering.

Next, in dealing with my religious life I want to do everything on this list. I was going to type up my own list, but after reading that I didn’t see the need. It’s a great list that basically covers it all! I really want to become a more real part of my church here. That would start with actual membership. Which would start, with meeting my Pastor outside of Sunday morning service. Part of me looks forward to such a meeting, but the shy, introverted part of me shudders at it. There’s parts of my Christian life I need to deal with — I’ve put them off far too long. One is my interesting baptism story (I will probably post about this soon) and figuring out if I need to be re-baptized.

More general goals include things like finances, eating habits and exercising. I recently started the Total Money Makeover and plan to continue on that. As far as eating goes, I’d just like to prepare more meals and sit down to dinner regularly with my girls. (Usually they have dinner and I clean up while they eat and then eat my dinner later. Or, I eat whatever they left on their plates. Horrible habits for me– I know!) I also want to start eating breakfast. Currently, we just skip that meal. Bad for everyone, I know. And exercising … just some regular activity would be good! I’ve been blessed with a small frame and so even with my non-existent exercise routine I still keep my figure. But, for health reasons I’d like to start incorporating more activities in my life. (Walking the dog, riding bikes with the girls, playing ball with the girls, etc).

Lastly, I’d like to work to maintain friendships. 2010 was a rough, but blessed year for me in the friendship area. I found out who my real friends were and made a handful of new ones that I hope to keep forever. This year end brought me several friendships with dear sisters in Christ. I savor all my dear friendships and I want to invest myself in those relationships. It’s easy to become a lazy friend, especially in the technical age we are in. So, I want to remember to let my friends know how much they mean to me through out 2011 and the coming years. 

Do you have any goals for 2011?

Be Blessed,

11 thoughts on “Goals for 2011

  1. It sounds like an awesome way to embrace the new year. Hopefully, I can sit down and think about my year and the new one to come soon. Right now everything is jumbled. :-/

  2. I have a few goals that I'll be posting about soon, but some are similar with yours like exercising. I thank God for a high metabolism rate or else I would be in really bad shape, literally. 😉

  3. It sounds like 2011 is going to be an exciting year for you and your girls! (and Josh too) :oDI have so many books I want to read. I think I'll start with the 3 I have next to my bed that are partially finished. I hop around too much!

  4. I would like to start keeping a stick to a prayer journal. I don't really like things "regimented" but if they aren't they tend to fall by the wayside.

  5. Holly, you have some very good goals and books on your reading list! Have your read "Twelve Extraordinary Woman" by John MacArthur yet? A good one for your desire towards biblical womanhood, for sure. May you accomplish all of your goals this year my sweet friend!God bless you!

  6. Ma- I would like to start a prayer jounral as well. I've tried before but have never quite stuck with it. Kay- Great to "meet" you too! I really enjoy your blog! :)Diane- Thank you for that suggestion! I haven't read it. I saw it in the church book room on Sunday though and it looks fantastic. I'm planning to add it on to my list now 🙂

Leave a Reply

