November of Thanksgiving Day 11

Today I’m thankful for Covenant Reformed Baptist Church . That is my boyfriend’s church. It’s the first church I ever heard expository preaching at and it’s also the first church I had ever felt at home at. I didn’t feel judged, like I do at most churches. I’ve been there a handful of times now and each time I fall a little more in love with the people, preaching, and worship there. Even though I’m only a perpetual visitor everyone there has treated me so kindly. But, the best thing about this church is the preaching. Every time I sit under Pastor Steve’s preaching I feel as if my starving soul is being fed. I am always anxious to visit Josh just to go to church (I do enjoy seeing the guy I love too! šŸ˜‰ ) They have what is called the “equipping hour” before each service. They were covering some church history over the summer and now they are teaching Systematic Theology during this hour. It’s such a blessing! I only wish I could go every week. After the service they have a fellowship meal every week. If you are ever in Northern Virginia you should definitely pay them a visit! šŸ™‚

And, before I go I have a question for my readers … can any of you recommend any good worship/hymn cds or artist to me? I only have a few in my collection and like to add some more. Thanks! šŸ™‚

Be Blessed,

9 thoughts on “November of Thanksgiving Day 11

  1. So glad you love his church! I know you can't wait to go back!I like Kathryn Scott,Brian Dorksen,Chris Tomlin,and lots of others. Those have some great worship and hymn stuff.

  2. Hollie,I'm glad for you that your future husband is in such a strong body of Christ. And in northern VA, too!I love listening to Fernando Ortega's hymn cds. Very calming and worshipful.I pray you've enjoyed much peace today, friend.

  3. I'll have to look this church up if we are ever in the area.I really like Indelible Grace. They set old hymns with wonderful doctrinally sound lyrics to modern music. I also like Matthew Smith who is also associated with Indelible Grace.

  4. Hollie, I felt the same way the first time I was exposed to expository preaching. I think it's the only way to keep the preacher true to the text and the best way for us, the hearers, to learn. And, I am delighted to hear that your future husband's church has welcomed you with open arms! You are a treasure and no doubt, they recognize that! Lord bless you my dear friend!

  5. My Free Will Baptist church does expository preaching. haha.Seriously, I've thought of visiting Josh's church.And, this is horrible, but I hate hymns. Well, let me rephrase that, I hate slow hymns. There are a few I like, but for the most part, they make me really annoyed. Not the words, but the music. I've heard people say a million times, "Don't listen to how we sing it, just listen to the words," but I can't.

  6. Erica- You should visit his church! You can always listen to some of the sermons on sermon audio as well. I can get ya the link if you're interested. I used to feel the same way you do about hymns, but I love them now. I don't know why! They just seem so pure to me compared to all the concert type worship I was used to in the non-denominational church I went to. Persis- Yes, if you are ever up do come visit them. It's such a wonderful place! Oh, and I really like Indelible Grace as well. I have one of their CDs šŸ™‚ Trisha- Thank you for your prayers šŸ™‚ Are you in Northern VA as well? You're right about Fernando Ortega's hymn CDs, they are so beautiful! Mrs. David Hankins- I really like Sovereign Grace Music too! That sale sounds awesome I will have to remember to check it out. Becky- Thank you for the suggestions šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

