The Holiness Of God (Chpt 4)

They signaled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them. And they came and filled both the boats, so that they began to sink. But when Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord.”

Peter’s eyes had been opened to the holiness of God. In the midst of the chaos of this miraculous amount of fish, boats sinking Peter’s sin was before him. When we look into the eye of the holy we cannot help but be aware of our sin. Being in the presence of God’s holiness makes our humanness painfully apparent to us. The initial reaction is to run, to flee. But, because of Jesus we can come before a Holy God. The initial fear, the sorrow of our sin is still there (and rightfully so) … but it doesn’t end there. God in all His love will comfort us and we can rest in Him and His presence.

Please Lord, never let me stop short at the miracles, gifts and goodness you provide to us clay beings. Let me always follow through to see your Holiness, your splendor and majesty.

Today, I am thankful for the precious gift of grace. That the Holy, awesome, powerful God stooped down to Earth to rescue a sinner like me from the eternal damnation I so deserve. It is the mystery of mysteries. Soli Deo Gloria!

Be Blessed,

7 thoughts on “The Holiness Of God (Chpt 4)

  1. O Hollie, wasn't this a wonderful chapter? The more I see Him the more I stand in awe. He, the Holy One, opened a way for me to come and see Him! When I did not love Him but instead levied my sin, He loved me!Blessings, my dear sister!

  2. Beautiful post Hollie! Grace is one of those words that we use frequently, but need to really stop and think about deeply.Amazing it is!God bless you sister!

  3. Becky- It was a great chapter! I enjoyed it so much 🙂 Persis- It's such a good book! This is my first time reading it and I'm enjoying it much! Diane- Yes, yes it is! I think sometimes we grow so used to hearing and talking about grace that we forget what a miraculous thing it is! Erica- Read this one! It's so good. I'm glad the post touched your heart. If you want to borrow the book when I finish it you can 🙂 Christina- Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

