Links!

I had to write another quick post to share this wonderful article!

“This is a pandemic problem in evangelical churches.  How many times have you heard someone say, “God told me,” “God lead me,” “God laid it on my heart,” etc?  One would think that these individuals heard the audible voice of God; but no, they base their statements on their feelings: a liver quiver, a gut assumption, butterflies, etc.  The problem is that there is nowhere in the Bible where God spoke to anyone through their feelings… not one example.  So, whenever these Christians make these statements, they have no authority or example in Scripture to prove that God is speaking to them.  They thus are playing the psychic.” 

Keep reading here.

And while I’m sharing links, I might as well mention that my beloved has started up a theological minded blog. You can find it here: http://reformedvirginian1689.wordpress.com

Be Blessed,

6 thoughts on “Links!

  1. I disagree. God has spoken to me before…not only through scripture, but internally. I KNOW without a doubt that God has spoken to me. It is something that is hard to explain. But I don't recall every time God spoke in scripture, that it said it was an audible voice? It just said He spoke. *shrugs*

  2. Tina, what does the word "spoke" mean? Find one example in Scripture that argues for what you're arguing for; otherwise, you KNOW God has spoken to you because YOU KNOW it. You have no accountability… and if the Scriptures do not speak of God speaking this way, then even the Scriptures cannot hold you accountable. In this area of your life, YOU have become YOUR OWN Scriptures… unless you can prove your argument from the Scriptures.

  3. Matthew 19:26 "With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible."It may not be "written" in scripture, but I'm surely not going to doubt what God can, and cannot do. I'm not going to play God, put Him in a box, and say that He can ONLY do those things that are written. Times change, people change, God changes the way He reaches people. You can believe what you want, but I'm not going to stop believing that God is speaking to me.

  4. Tina, It's not about "putting God in a box." You do realize that if the Scriptures are not our absolute guide, that anyone can claim anything about God. I'm not putting God in a box, I'm putting you and I in a box, a Scriptural box. You however are taking yourself out of that box, and opening yourself up to any and everything. At the very least, you do realize how rare God spoke in the Scriptures, don't you?This is the problem with relative revelation, regardless what I tell you, you will still believe that God is speaking to you… so, it's just you and God, and no one else. Do you realize how arrogant this is? The only proof you have that God speaks to you internally is that YOU believe it. The Scriptures do not back you up; and yet, you don't care. You have exalted yourself to the position of the Scriptures. You are playing the psychic; you are participating in divination, which is a direct violation of what God has commanded.

  5. I'm not sure I totally agree with that statement. There are times I do believe the Holy Spirit guides one,but it won't go against scripture. We cannot stop people from saying God led them and then they do something nutty. I haven't heard God audible speak,no. I have known God was speaking to me through scripture before yes.

Leave a Reply

