A Month of Thanksgiving

“The grateful heart that springs forth in joy is not acquired in a moment; it is the fruit of a thousand choices. It is a godly habit and pattern that over time becomes a new muscle in our spiritual make-up” (From my Choosing Gratitude calendar)

Rebecca over at Rebecca Writes has extended an invitation to join in on a month of thankfulness. Check out the link above for more information.


I was never quite able to finish my “Remembering the Reformers” blog series. My first few posts weren’t received well and that coupled with loss of time put a wrench in my plans. I did however have a chance to read and learn much about many reformers privately last month. I thank God that He has preserved the history of His people so we are able to know where the church has come from and what it has prevailed over. I find reading stories of the saints God has gifted the church over time to be of great encouragement.


Yesterday was Reformation Day. I am so thankful for what Martin Luther accomplished and that he, and others, were brave enough to stand on Scripture alone even when faced with death in many cases. I also couldn’t help but reflect on how in many ways the church is in need of a new reformation. I can see great similarities between Rome then and the greater Evangelical church now. It seems silliness has once again penetrated the church. I pray over time the Lord will continue to refine His people and draw them back to scripture and a pure form of worship.




Be Blessed,

3 thoughts on “A Month of Thanksgiving

  1. Thanking God with you for the Reformation, Hollie! I discovered your blog after you were in the midst of your posts on the Reformers. Remember that comments aren't an indication of the helpfulness or quality of a post. 🙂 So, should you decide to continue that series, I'll be following along. I appreciate what you did do, and I know posting is time consuming. Have a beautiful Monday, friend. 🙂

  2. Amen, Hollie. I join you in thanking God for the Reformation! And, I agree with Trisha. If it the series is something you would like to pursue — you should do so. I too will follow! 🙂 Lord bless you my dear friend!

  3. i wish you would've been able to continue with it further. i'm sorry about all that ensued to make you stop writing about something you're so passionate about.

Leave a Reply

