Back at church today.

We were finally back at our church this morning. It’s probably been almost a month since we had been there (due to being out of town and sickness). I was very surprised when several people came up to me and welcomed me joyously and said I had been missed. “Me? They missed me? But they don’t know me.” I thought. I had only been at this church a handful of times, I honestly didn’t think I would be missed.

A sweet elderly lady was one of the people that missed me. I’m fairly certain I only spoke to her briefly once on my very first visit. We talked shortly before service and after service she caught up with me again. She clasped my hands in hers while telling me we’d have to do lunch some day soon. I eagerly agreed and told her how much I would like this.

Could this be an answered prayer? Have I found my Titus 2 lady here in Ohio … Oh I have wanted one for so long. Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women …

I also was blessed to meet a widower. He was an older man and he sought me out after service to commend me on keeping my children out front with me to hear the Word. He had tears in his eyes when he spoke; he was so sincere! He told me later in the parking lot that his wife had passed away the year previous. “The grief subsides as time passes, but the loneliness never does.” he told me. My heart ached for him and I prayed on the way home that we could somehow lessen his burden of loneliness over time. 


The sermon was very good. It was so nice to hear the Word preached again. We are now in Acts 23. Oh how I do love expository preaching! He talked about how it doesn’t matter how many people do or do not get saved by our testimony/ministry, all that matters is if the Lord is pleased with it. (Acts 23:11)


During the singing, the two little girls in the row in front of me sang from the tops of their lungs. They were nearly shouting, joyously. I think it was certainly a joyful noise to the Lord!


As I drove back home I felt as if I were glowing, I was overflowing. Going to church and worshiping our Lord corporately makes such a difference in a person’s life. There’s a reason we aren’t to forsake the gathering, obviously because God has advised us not to … but we also need it. We were made to worship, to worship our Lord and Savior, the King of Kings!

4 thoughts on “Back at church today.

  1. So glad you had a wonderful service!! It is great to know there are people who do notice you and will reach out to you. I would love to be able to have an older lady as a friend,I mean in her 60's or 70's.

  2. Hi Hollie, I found your blog through your post at Becky's. It is such a joy to read this post about this new church you're attending. What a blessing this is! We are part of a new church plant where I live and I pray that this is the kind of church it will be. So far it is, praise God! 🙂 May He bless you with many new friends in Christ! Your sister in Him,Dianeps. I was born in Ohio in 1951 but moved to California shortly after. I did finally get a chance to visit where I was born for the first time just a few years ago. It was so green and beautiful!

  3. Diane, How neat to be part of a church plant! I will be praying for the future of your church 🙂 That's great you were able to come back and visit your birth state. I do like it here. I live in the South Eastern area where it is still hilly and very pretty. We actually have people come from all over to get married around here :)Have a blessed week, Diane!

Leave a Reply

