Thankful Thursday – 9/9/10

Today, for Thankful Thursday, I am thankful that I do not live under sharia law. If you are not familiar with what sharia law is here’s an explanation:

Sharia (شريعة Šarīʿa; [ʃaˈriːʕa], “way” or “path”) is the sacred law of Islam. Muslims believe Sharia is derived from two primary sources, the divine revelations set forth in the Qur’an, and the sayings and example set by the Islamic Prophet Muhammad in the Sunnah. Fiqh, or “jurisprudence,” interprets and extends the application of Sharia to questions not directly addressed in the primary sources, by including secondary sources. These secondary sources usually include the consensus of the religious scholarsijma, and analogy from the Qur’an and Sunnah through qiyas. Shia jurists replace qiyas analogy with ‘aql, or “reason”. Source

I subscribe to the monthly Voice of the Martyrs newsletter. This is an excellent website to peruse if you want to witness the suffering of Christians from fundamentalist Muslims. Each year they also send out a prayer map so individuals can pray for the nations where Christianity is restricted. Many of the restricted nations are nations under Shariah law (whether it be officially or not.)  The things that are permitted under Sharia law are down right terrifying. And these are not just rules “extreme” Muslims came up with. Their prophet Muhammad believed these as well. The violent and extreme laws come directly from the founder of Islam in his Quran and his example in the hadith. Under Shariah law you can be beaten for almost anything: drinking, being a “bad” wife, fornication, and so on. Homosexuals and adulterers are to be stoned.

I’m so SO thankful for Christianity. Jesus says, turn the other cheek, love your neighbor … those among you with no sin cast the first stone. The oppression of Sharia law is unimaginable, especially for Americans … because all things considered we still have it pretty good over here. Jesus said, “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

It saddens me that American Christians boast the peacefulness of Shariah law and Islam while numerous amounts of Christians suffer horrifying persecution at the hands of Islam/Shariah Law. It’s easy to make those statements in America. Most Muslims in America might seem peaceful, but I would challenge they are not following their religious beliefs to the fullest. Just as we have luke-warm Evangelicals, in my opinion we have luke-warm Muslims here also. I would encourage Christians to educate themselves on what Muhammad actually taught and what Islam is really about. Anyone can cherry pick verses to make it look peaceful. If you study it though you will find otherwise. There is no balance in the Qur’ran between the peaceful and violent verses … the violent verse win hands down.  And, it’s important to note that the “peaceful verses” have been canceled anyway.Most of the peaceful verses came during the first part of Muhammad’s “career” while the violent ones came later. Why does this matter? There’s a Islamic doctrine known as: Naskh.

In its historical application, naskh typically involves the replacement (tabdīl) of an earlier verse/tradition (and thus its embodied “Hukm” ruling) with a chronologically successive one. The complete suppression (izāla) of a regulation so that not even its wording remains is recognized as well, though only in the case of the Qur’ān. Source

This is but a glimpse into Islam/Shariah law. Books could easily be filled on the subject and already have been.

So, I am thankful to not be under Islamic rule. I am so thankful for freedom in Christ Jesus. I am also thankful for the Christians that are spreading the Gospel to the nations and stand fearless in the Lord to the persecution from Islam (among other religions/governments). May we remember them in our prayers and never trivialize what they are going through.

7 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – 9/9/10

  1. Amen & AMEN….we have supported several missionaries in Muslim countries…I’ve heard their stories of loving people to Christ. So much we don’t know. SO THANKFUL I was not born into such a world.

  2. I’d have to say that it’s just as easy to ‘cherry pick’ violent verses from the Quran. It’s also just as easy to be horrified by stoning etc. which was also down in the old testament of the bible (for the same reasons). I’d also argue that since your source is a Christian magazine there is going to be some bias.

    It’s not usually the law but the men that carry them out (in the wrong way) which cause a problem, just like here. It’s not trivializing what Christians are going through to say that the religion is a peaceful one. You also have to be careful to pick up a real version of the Quran and not one that fundamentalists love to print off in the masses.

    That being said it doesn’t make me any less grateful to be saved by Jesus Christ. But I’d say I’m thankful to be an American (two things that don’t necessarily go hand in hand). I think what you mean to say is you are grateful to live in a country that is a democracy.

    • You really think the Voice of the Martyrs is biased? I assure you they aren’t. You can read the same stories they run in their publications in other places. I hardly think reporting the persecutions of Christians is biased.

      As far as cherry-picking violent verses, this is true. But, like I said consider the doctrine of abrogation … (mostly) the violent verses have come later.

      I did say in the entry I was thankful to live in America where we still have it pretty good. Of course our country is a republic not a democracy 😉

      I mentioned being free in Christ because, simply I am. Being saved makes me look at all things in life differently than I would have otherwise … this topic included. 🙂

      And, I never said there wasn’t stoning in OT times. I don’t know why people feel the need to point that out when discussing this topic. I’m pretty sure we are no longer stoning people. I am looking at current times in this entry, obviously. OT stoning has absolutely nothing to do with the topic at hand.

    • I will/am checking out the link 🙂 I’m already having a lot of issues with it. By statements like this:

      “This Quranic verse, alongside numerous other verses, confirm the truth that as far as God is concerned there has always been one religion. The one religion was decreed to Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus and Muhammad.”

      I will continue to read on (I’ve only read a few pages so far)… but it seems very universalist so far which is non-Biblical. I don’t know your beliefs on such issues but it sends up huge red flags to me when people make statements claiming all religions are the same, as this page has done on the home page (at least that’s how I understood the sentence on the homepage).

Leave a Reply

