School, Cloth, Canning

Home schooling is going really well. Emma is doing most of the assignments while at work, and she’s usually done by eleven at the latest (we get here at eight). So, that left her until four with nothing to do! So last night we walked to the library and checked out a bunch of books. I suppose she’ll have them read in a few days though, knowing her 😛  I know bringing her into work with me isn’t ideal … but it is what works for us. I wish we could be at home learning in a better environment … but it is what it is, ya know?

So last night we took a break from schooling and walked down to the library together. It’s about a ten minute walk up the street from our house. It was really nice to get out of the house like that. Both the girls really enjoyed it. Rylee LOVES to do puzzles at the library. I think she did every puzzle they had last night. I wanted to ask the librarian if she knew of any home school groups, but I never got the chance because she was pretty busy.

When we got home it was time to do some reading for history. Emma was refusing to listen. I’d ask a question and she had no idea what I just said. It was really frustrating. She ended up writing “I will listen to my mother.” twenty-five times. Writing is the subject she loathes. Just now she came in to complain about her handwriting book. The book we have for her cursive is one I bought outside of Sonlight because Sonlight’s curriculum only included print. So, the book is writing a questions from the Shorter Catechism each day in cursive. She came in here stating she did not have to do it because it wasn’t part of the Sonlight series. She can have so much sass in her! Drives me a little crazy sometimes.

For sometime I’ve really wanted to incorporate cloth napkins into our home, as well as handkerchiefs. But cloth napkins can be a bit pricey so I’ve held off on buying any. But I was thinking, I could perhaps make my own from thrifted pillowcases. Hmm. I’ll have to look into that, I think it would be quite easy.

We all have colds at our house. It’s pretty yucky.

I’m thinking of buying green beans while they are still in season and canning them. Does anyone know of a website that offers good canning instructions? I know I could just google but I really wouldn’t know the difference between good and bad directions 😛

11 thoughts on “School, Cloth, Canning

  1. first i wanna say that the bottom of my thumb hurts…and i don’t know why.
    now that i’ve gotten that out of the way…parents who homeschool always run that risk of not listening students. it sucks. and it appears that you and emma are a lot alike personality wise, so there is a power struggle. just my observation…from the internet. :p
    i hate handkerchiefs. hate them. i think they are so disgusting. i can’t stand reusing tissues either. blech. like i don’t want old snot on my nose when trying to free my nose from current snot. ick. grosses me out. lol. cloth napkins though…those are fine…since you just wash them after one use anyway.
    boo for colds. i don’t like colds. please don’t give it to me. :p
    your entry was quite random…especially after talking about emma and the girls.
    and i know nothing about canning…so i can’t help ya there!

  2. Dude! Call me later tonight & I’ll tell you how to can green beans. haha. My mom has been canning for like, 50 years & I was forced to sit in the kitchen with her growing up & learn because, “It’s what women do…”

  3. The cloth napkins is one of the things in the sewing class I’m taking. It’s actually quite easy.. just basically cut your square, then fold each side in, iron, and sew it down. 🙂

  4. Glad that school is going good! I remember getting sassy some lol I’m reaping what I sow now,sometimes.

    I love cloth napkins! But we use just regular ones. Making some from a pillow case would be neat! 🙂

    I have no clue how to can. My Mawmaw did it a lot. A lot of my friends do,but I am no trying it here in this small apartment!!

    And Erica,you are so crazy lol

  5. Do you have a pressure canner or just a waterbath? Unfortunately green beans are one of those borderline foods with regards to acidity – from what I’ve read, they should really be pressure canned for safety. Bummed me out because I had the same idea but we only have a waterbath canner for now. If you do have a pressure canner, a great site I was looking at earlier this season is http://www.pickyourown.org – they do have some green bean instructions. 🙂

    • Thanks for the info Kim 🙂 We only have a waterbath (at least I think that’s what it is). My mom and dad have always used it to can green beans (they haven’t canned in years though, so maybe it was different then?). I’m totally new to canning and freezing things but I’m anxious to learn the ins and outs of it !

      • Yeah, I think things have changed a lot with canning in recent years. I know that a lot of recipes prior to a certain year (can’t remember it right now) aren’t supposed to be used anymore. I’m sure plenty of people still can green beans using a waterbath (just a big pot usually with metal inserts to keep the jars from rattling around) but I’m just so nervous with canning…everything has to be so precise to be safe. It’s a lot of fun and rewarding though and I’m glad it’s making a comeback.

Leave a Reply

