Theology Matters

When you start to really study the Bible and dig into theological things it can be intimidating. There’s a lot of big, hard to pronounce, words out there relating to theology. But, I think it is vitally important for each and every Christian to look into theology. Instead of just studying God or His word we tend to relate it back to ourselves. Churches are full of watered down Bible studies that you never really learn anything from aside from how to do life better. We learn how to better deal with our struggles, our short comings, our sins … it’s me me me me!

Now, I’m not suggesting the Bible doesn’t serve the purpose of personal application. I am a big believer that you can get answers from the Bible for just about any problem or calamity you face in life. However, I do not think this should be the main type of Bible studying we do. I think we should study the Bible to know God, to learn to revere our Lord and Savior. To learn the history of our brothers and sisters in Christ … to look in awe at just how amazing God is. Redemptive history is really breath-taking and (in my opinion) it’s far more important than learning God’s purpose for your life. (And just to save you $20 on a book I can answer that one for you … God’s purpose for you? To glorify Him. )

“Wimpy theology makes wimpy women.” – John Piper

Whether you agree or disagree with Dr. Piper’s teachings I think we should all agree that the above statement is correct. As women we should be strong in our theology. It should be our goal to easily articulate what we believe and why. A lot of women will someday be (or are already mothers) … you are going to play a big role in the theology your child learns. Do your children see you reading books about how God can better your life or will they see you digging into the Word, yearning to know God in the midst of whatever problems you have?Β  If your children ever encounter atheist or evolutionists that push them on their beliefs … will they have a strong theological foundation to stand on? Or will they have moralistic, therapeutic deism?

The church is in a state of … despair to say the least. The types of things going-down in Christian churches today is highly alarming, and this is just another reason we need to be able to proclaim the Truth loudly. Here are a couple of links to insanity that has happened in the church as of late:

Dog receives communion

Rodeos IN the Sanctuary

I know that’s only two, but there’s more. Just look around at how much church focuses on the youth and trying to be “cool” enough to attract kids. It’s really sad. I think one of the main remedies to this is getting back to the Bible. Read the Bible, read your church’s catechism. It used to be no big thing for children and adults to have tons of scripture memorized. To know what they believed and why was normal. Catechizing kids was a normal part of family life. I think we need to get back to that and it starts with recognizing as adults that theology DOES matter.

18 thoughts on “Theology Matters

  1. AMEN sista! I agree with you 100%.
    I’m actually starting a bible study this year in my youth group. It’ll be a gradual easing in, but it will get them submitted into the word more often so that they can fall in love with God themselves. πŸ™‚

  2. I usually pick a book and read a chapter a day and just mull over it and look for God showing me new things in the verses. I like studies that help us know more about God and help us to see things in ourself,like the one I’m doing by Beth Moore. Wounds that need healing,bruises,hurts, and pains. To see them and know we need to be completely free of pains and hurts to be able to grow in God. I agree a lot of churches now water down the Bible and make it all about you. It’s sad and frustrating.

    • That’s good. I’m not really a fan of Beth Moore … I think people like her tend to be part of the problem. But, that’s just from what I saw she had out when I googled Bible studies. They all seem to be very focused on the person and on what God can do for them.

  3. I wholeheartedly agree!

    I just kinda went along blindly along in church for the longest time. I basically went to whatever church my friends belonged to (ranging from Independent Baptist to Assembly of God) and I never questioned anything because they were all preaching Jesus.

    Then I started asking why, why, why. Why do I believe in God? Why do I believe the Bible? Why did Jesus have to die? etc. And those why questions brought on a lot of stress because I was use to just believing a certain thing thing without ever looking in to the depths of it, and I’m here to tell you that Ecclesiastes 1:18 is TRUE! “For in much wisdom is much grief, and he who increases knowledge increases sorrow.”

  4. “If your children ever encounter atheist or evolutionists that push them on their beliefs … will they have a strong theological foundation to stand on? Or will they have moralistic, therapeutic deism?”

    Amen!!

  5. I’m with Erica – I used to float between churches simply because they all preached “Jesus,” whether it was the biblical Jesus or not. Today’s Christian bookstores are loaded with books on how to better yourself (me, me, me! is right), but very seldom do we see a book about theology on the shelf with the top ten bestsellers. I tried getting into the Beth Moore style studies (there are others to of course) but I got the same impressions you did. I want my children to talk about Christ, not themselves! This world is quick to devour us for our faith in Christ – can we stand up for our beliefs? Great post Hollie.

  6. Really,Hollie? Wow, I never got that impression from her. A lot of her studies are studying the disciples,though I’ve not done one of those. I did one about David. I think we need to examine ourselves,that is what the one I am doing now does. When you and Christina say me,me,me what exactly do you mean? This one now is about being free in Christ,which in essence, is being a better Christian,but she sure doesn’t water it down. She says things a lot of people I know do not want to talk about,themselves and their sins. I always get a lot from her teaching.

    I agree we all should be able to stand up for what we believe in and back up why we believe it. I guess I get frustrated when we can back it up with words-theology-but we don’t with our lifestyles,ya know what I mean? Knowledge is worthless if it isn’t a heart knowledge in my opinion and the Bible says so. I see so many who live so contradictory to the Word of God and I say if you are going to know theology and practice it with your mouth,do so with your heart. Sorry! That’s my soap box lol Many of you know this!

  7. Heather,

    I agree that are life should mirror our theology. However, I think you have to do more than just live a certain way. We have to be able explain the Gospel … no one will ever be saved by watching us live a certain way, ya know? The Bible says the Holy Spirit will quicken people when they hear the Gospel.

    What I mean about “me,me,me,me,me,me” is it’s about just that the person. Like you said how to be a better Christian is about the reader. About what God can do for you. I’m not saying stuff like that is always bad, to me her stuff is more like self-help stuff, how to better your life through being a Christian, etc. It’s not just about God … we have to make it about us in someway. That’s what I meant. I hope that makes sense. I’m not sure I’m good at explaining this. I’m not trying to step on any toes either … just saying things how I see them I guess. I think instead of reading a bunch of these how to be a better Christian books we should focus more on knowing what the Bible says and knowing who God is. Just really take ourselves out of the picture.

  8. Thank you ,Hollie! I understand what you mean now. πŸ™‚ Oh I definitely believe we should be able to explain why we believe what we believe. But I do believe we are Bible some people will ever read and I do believe people can be drawn by the Spirit through one’s life. I can say that of my Daddy. He probably can’t even spell Theology,but he can tell you why he believes in Jesus and accepted him. So that is what I am saying when I talk about back up your beliefs with actions-lifestyle. And I understand what you are saying. But I don’t believe one has to read church history or lots of books to know what they believe.

    I don’t see her stuff as self-help. I would think Joel Osteen or Joyce Myer is more along that lines. And I don’t think you have to do a study to find out what things you need to do to live better for God or know more about Him. You can ask God in prayer what things you need to change in your life and yourself. I think that is vital,more so than theology. I believe we are called to live a certain way for the Lord. That’s just me. But I understand what you are saying,I just don’t agree wholeheartdly.

    • I’m glad you understand! I’m not always so good with words and I often worry people don’t really get what I’m trying to say. I don’t expect everyone to agree with me so no worries there πŸ™‚ I did want to mention a few more things to try and show you how theology has worked out in my life and stuff … I hope that’s ok? πŸ™‚

      Oh, and I want to add that I do think Beth Moore is a step up from Joyce Meyer and Joel Olsteen. I’ve only read one of Beth’s books … but I base my comment from the title and summary of most of her study books. Not saying they are all bad.

      As far as living our lives a certain way to be a witness to others I think this is a very dangerous mind set a lot of Christians fall into. Now, I do think as Christians we are called to be salt and light … absolutely. But there’s little sayings, like “Preach the Gospel at all times. Where necessary, use words” that lend to that mindset and to me they make no sense. How do you act out through your life Jesus dying on the cross? How does your everday actions convey that just as much as God is love He is just and that the price for sins needed to be paid or we would have all been with out hope? I honestly don’t think actions can convey that. We need words and Scripture. God gave us Scripture for a reason, ya know? Another good thing to point out here is works-righteousness. All other religions are based on good works, but as Christians we DON’T work our way to salvation … yes we are to do good things, but it’s a result of receiving Grace. Does that make sense? I think being a good person is not enough of a witness. We need to open our mouths and speak what the scripture says about the law and the Gospel. The Gospel is what makes us different from all other religions. I hope I’m making sense lol.

      Now, on to church history. I think this is important and I want to try to explain why. There’s one main reason I think it’s vitally important that parents know church history and that is this: kids ask questions. Emma is only seven but we’ve already had a TON of questions from her about Roman Catholics. I had to learn (and I’m still learning) church history to answer these for her. She wanted to know why they did things differently than us, if they were Christians too, etc. When she was at private school the school tried to force Lent on the kids and I had to address that with her then and why she wouldn’t be participating. The little girl across the street has said many things to Emma about how Catholics are the best Christians ever and are far smarter than Protestants because they have the Pope etc. This can be applied to lots of different religions. What about when Jehovah Witness folks come to your door … I know my kids are full of questions after that kind of stuff. And now, with the widely accepted idea that Mormons are Christians … we need to be prepared to answer these questions. Or at least, study and learn the answers with our kids. I’d much rather my kids know they can come to me with such questions then going elsewhere. That’s the main reason I think church history is relevant. We should be able to explain how the church got where it is today and stuff like that.

      And again, I will say theology is the study of God. If Christians aren’t drawn to study God, I’d have to wonder about their conversion … because it is only natural to want to know more and more about our King and Savior.

      I hope this doesn’t come off with the wrong tone. I’m not trying to be mean or rude … just further explain why these things are important and how they matter in my life.

      • Not really on topic, Hollie, but I was wondering if you could explain more about why you wouldn’t allow Emma to participate in Lent. We are not Catholic (we’re Anglican) and we find the time of Lent to be an important period of focusing and preparation in the weeks leading up to Easter. I was just curious what your reasons were. πŸ™‚

    • No problem Cynthia πŸ™‚ I encouraged Emma that if she felt the need to “fast” in some way until Easter that she should do so in private (of course she needed to let me know as her mother) and keep in between her and God … as opposed to a public, boastful … look what I did for God type thing. The school was also encouraging the kids to give up very frivolous things like candy saying that it compared to what Christ gave up for 40 days in the wilderness. I felt this really trivialized Christ’s time in the wilderness.

      • Thanks for explaining that, Hollie. That makes perfect sense and I completely understand (and agree) with where you are coming from.

  9. Thanks Hollie! You explained it very well and I see more of what you are saying! πŸ™‚

    Now, about ministering with your life. I’m not saying you won’t ever open your mouth,that’s not it at all. My example was my Daddy. I’ve talked about his some in other places,but I’ll give details. He was physically and verbally abused growing up. When he married my Momma she wasn’t saved,but by the age of 28 she received Christ. She had always been a quiet woman and very submissive. He wasn’t the most caring or loving,but she never let that quench her loving and caring spirit towards him. For years she was not treated so well(never abused),but I believe a man should cherish his wife,this he didn’t do. Yes, he took care of her physical needs,but there are more than that in a marriage. She never once let bitterness set in. She kept praying for him and loving him. He saw his children grow up and begin to seek God,talk about God,and her too. Then onto the grandkids. The girls(my nieces) were young,but they were learning about God and prayer and he saw this. He saw how we were at one time,but how we were changed after Christ. So it wasn’t just by our life,but that was the main part yes. If you are filled with Christ you will talk about Christ. So that is what I am getting at. Now, our life did not physical tell of the cross,but it did of love. My Momma loved and respected him even though he treated her like crap. Isn’t that what Jesus does for us? You and I both spit in his face at times,though he loves us? So that is what I mean.

    1Likewise, ye wives, be in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives;

    2While they behold your chaste conversation coupled with fear.

    3Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel; I Peter 3:1-3

    Those verses are ones I love and often use. So does that make more sense? That is living a certain way. A way like Christ did,loving no matter what and not expecting something in return.

    I didn’t think of it that way with church history. My boys aren’t really talking and so I haven’t thought of it that way. But I still don’t think I need to know a lot of it to tell them answers. I guess what works for each family is best and they know. Not saying I won’t study it and show my boys things,but if I don’t it will not effect the answers I give. I know how to explain to them why we aren’t Catholic or Mormons. We are Christians,no specific denomination. I do want to learn more about the church and it’s history,so I’m not against it. I just think there are a lot of people who don’t and will not and that is fine.

    I’ve listened to Joyce very few times-before I made my mind up on women preaching. She does nothing for me. Joel,well he must not like SIN. Beth, she talks about life experiences. She gets there right where a lot have been. Even Christ does that,it says we have not a high priest that haven’t been touched by our infirmities. For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin. Hebrews 4:15

    If you ever go to a foreign land you will see things a lot different,as I did. It really opens your eyes and you realize wow there is more to it than we think as American Christians. I mean over there they have no clue about anything. All they know is people come from America to tell them about God and when I said this sounded complicated the other night I guess I was thinking about these people. When we went to Honduras, we did puppet shows for the kids,gave out tracts,and preached. And like I said you can have lots of head knowledge,but what wins people over (if you want to use that term) to Jesus is the love we have for one another and them. Those people were amazed we would come all that way to share Jesus with them. They devoured him and the Word. I hope I am making sense. It’s hard for me to convey what I am thinking sometimes lol Anyways.

    I didn’t take offence and you did great explaining. I like to be able to debate and talk without being mean and I try too,but it is hard to know how to take someone when you can’t hear them. I think it is great you are growing and learning,as I am. You are a special woman and know a lot and will be able to help your girls learn and grasp a lot of things. Thank you for explaining and listening to me! πŸ™‚

  10. Sorry, I forgot to finish about my Daddy. After seeing the dramatic change in us all, God started dealing with him about his own life. Why do you reject me when you see how I can make you a new person? He always felt unworthy from being told he was nothing better than dirt. He always felt he wasn’t good enough for God’s love and grace. The Holy Spirit begin to deal with his heart and let him see if we loved him so,how much more did Jesus love him? He come to the realization that he was not worthy at all,BUT God sent His only begotten Son Jesus to take his place on that cross. He realized without Christ he was nothing and he accepted Him. He is a different man and I think once you come to know Christ you will change,your speech,your motives, your dress, your actions,everything. So I believe that is huge.

Leave a Reply

