First day of school 2010

Today was our first, official, day of school. I got home from work at four and quickly got things started. I had Emma clear off the table while I set Rylee up with a cartoon (not typical for me, but I wanted to see how things flowed before starting in on Rylee’s schooling too … so she got a cartoon night 😛 ).

We started out with math, which was pretty easy. Most of it was seat-work so I explained each section to Emma then jumped in the shower while she did that because I wasn’t sure if I’d have a chance to shower later in the evening as usual (I wasn’t sure how long home-schooling would take and I wanted to be able to call Josh at nine like normal. I have priorities haha) Anyway, after that we moved on to reading. Sonlight has lots of reading. They say the program is built mostly on reading and history. So we did all the reading and review questions, then moved on to science, history, language arts, and spelling. We started around four o’clock and ended at six-thirty. Not too bad! I also managed to get a load of clothes in the washer in the meantime (which I have since forgotten about … need to move them to the dryer now). Getting done at six-thirty didn’t leave a lot of time for dinner. I just made mac’n’cheese with tuna and mixed veggies — super easy. We ate at seven and were done around seven-thirty. Since bed-time for the kiddos is at eight (yes, I’m one of those crazy moms) it didn’t leave a lot of time for playing and what not … but they play all day while I’m at work, so I wasn’t super concerned with that.

Overall it went well! I can see some areas we need to work on (like dictation) and areas that will be really easy for her. I think she was most excited about science — we were learning about animals :o) I also let her write her spelling words on the window and she loved that.

I’m looking forward to teaching her again tomorrow and the next day and the next day …

8 thoughts on “First day of school 2010

  1. I'm glad the first day went so well. I can't wait to hear more about your homeschooling adventure. I'm thinking about homeschooling Grayson when he's almost 4. I want to see how things go with him. 🙂

  2. You're very productive! And a great teacher to boot. I'm glad that everything went well today. Looking forward to hearing more about this as time goes on. 🙂

  3. Sounds busy but efficient!! I'm so happy this is working out. You could probably freeze some dinners on the weekends and pop 'em in the oven/microwave upon returning home. That could give you more time with the girls. (And don't forget, part of homeschooling is home economics, so the girls could help with laundry, lol!)So proud of you Hollie! You're an inspiration to me and I can't wait to ask you all my homeschooling questions in a few years. 🙂

  4. I'm so glad it went well! Seth doesn't do well with dictation, either. We started out just using that as copywork instead and it seemed to work better for him that way. I'm glad she liked it, and I hope Rylee likes hers, too!

  5. YAY!! i'm so glad that it went well! i knew it would…and i'm so proud of you for going through with this! i know this is just day one…but day one of many more to come!! 🙂

  6. it's kind a of crazy you can work in a school session in just 2 hours =] it would be AMAZING if teachers only had 3 or even just 1 student to teach every day. im glad you are able to do this, im glad everything worked out =] i have to tell you a secret lol im making a list of all the MOM/PARENTING things i want for my future children and while some sources i have to stop and research, you are one source i don't have to second guess, your parenting is not only loving but very intelligent.

Leave a Reply

