We found a church … FINALLY.

So, we tried a new church today. I think we may have found a church to call home (until we can be truly at home in Virginia, of course *wink*). And this place was packed! It wasn’t a mega-church or anything, just a normal church filled to the brim! Probably at least a hundred folks or so. Rylee had to sit on my lap because there was no seat available for her.

Amazingly, I had to actually open my Bible as the preacher did … wait for it … expository preaching!!! How exciting! It wasn’t as great as the preaching in Virginia, but it was still pretty darn good. There was a little too many stories and quotes sprinkled through for my liking (though I appreciated that many of the quotes were from Reformers such as John Calvin, and my favorite — Martin Luther). But even with all the story-telling and quotes he still broke down the passage, verse by verse and expounded on it. It was such a blessing.

My only other complaint, so far, is the singing. I really love the Hymns and all but, the amount of singing was a little much! I was anxious to hear the preaching but we sang for what felt like days on end πŸ˜›

Everyone was super nice. The church is full of mostly older folks … and Chinese people (mostly younger) Very interesting mix. The girl sitting next to me had a Chinese Bible! And when they prayed over the offering the prayer was first said in Chinese, then in English. Different- but cool. It’s very neat to see the Gospel reaching others despite language barriers. The girl beside me had her mother with her (an older Chinese lady) and she wore headphone through the service. I guess they pre-record the sermon in Chinese and then give these headphones to the Chinese people that can’t speak English so they can still hear the sermon. Awesome!

We will definitely be going back. I think we will go for Sunday School class next time as we only went for worship service this time around.

2 thoughts on “We found a church … FINALLY.

  1. So I don't know what to be more excited about, the fact that you found a church or the fact that Josh commented on your entry! LOL!I am soooooooo happy that you found a church! I hope that it really does live up to your expectations and it does suffice until you move to Virgina! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

